May 2022
QTSAS adds a “Special Theme Award” in the catering sector
Go Back

“Quality Tourism Services Accreditation Scheme” regroups catering businesses

Since the Macao SAR’s Law No. 8/2021 on the Operation of Hotel Establishments came into effect in 2022, the Macao Government Tourism Office (MGTO) has made ensuing adjustments to the rules of enforcement and the award mechanism of the “Quality Tourism Services Accreditation Scheme” (“QTSAS”) for the catering sector. In line with the new law, QTSAS now groups catering businesses into four applicable subcategories, namely “Restaurant (hotel)”, “Restaurant (non-hotel)”, “Simple Dining Establishment” and “Food and Beverage Establishment”. A “Special Theme Award” is newly available while some of the existing accolades have been renamed.

Due to the pandemic situation, QTSAS will not process new applications from the catering sector this year. However, supervision and appraisal will be conducted upon accredited catering businesses according to the adjusted assessment criteria. On the other hand, QTSAS has halted the submission of applications and assessment for travel agencies this year, but pertinent accreditations remain valid for awarded merchants. As for the retail sector, MGTO will continue its collaboration with the Consumer Council, which brings together QTSAS and the Certified Shop Scheme.

The public can browse the Macao Tourism Industry Net at for QTSAS’s latest application manual and assessment criteria which have been adjusted for the catering sector.

Address:Alameda Dr. Carlos d’Assumpção, nºs 335-341, Edifício “Hot Line”, 12º andar, Macau
Tel:(853) 2831 5566
Fax:(853) 2851 0104
Tourism Hotline:(853) 2833 3000
© 2022 MGTO. All rights reserved.