• President of the Sports Bureau Pun Weng Kun officiates at the opening ceremony (Photo courtesy of Sports Bureau)
  • Four teams will contest the Macao round at the Macao Forum this month

FIVB Women’s Volleyball Nations League - Macao 2018 Kicks Off

LISTEN STOP Your browser does not support this feature

The 'FIVB Women's Volleyball Nations League - Macao 2018', presented by Galaxy Entertainment Group, sanctioned by the Federation Internationale de Volleyball (FIVB) and co-organized by Macao SAR Government Sports Bureau and the Volleyball Association of Macao, China, will be held from 22nd to 24th May at the Macao Forum. Four national women's volleyball teams from China, Serbia, Thailand and Poland will compete in the Macao round.

Starting this year, the FIVB replaces the highly popular FIVB World Grand Prix with the new FIVB Women's Volleyball Nations League. Under the new format, 16 teams - comprising 12 core teams and four challenger teams - will compete in a five-week 'round robin' of 20 pools, with Macao one of the pools of the second competition week. The finals, to be held in Nanjing from 27th June to 1st July, will be contested by hosts China plus five remaining best teams from the round robin.

The competition starts on 22nd May with Serbia playing against Thailand, and China playing against Poland; on 23rd May Poland squares up to Serbia, while China will play Thailand; on the final day of 24th May, Poland first plays against Thailand and then China and Serbia to conclude this year's competition with a rematch of the Rio Olympics final.

Tickets are now available; for more information, please visit: www.macaovnl.com.